Knysna to Port Elizabeth

Friday, October 19th.

We are driving today very early on route to Port Elizabeth. It is very rainy so an ideal time to be sitting under cover of our bus. At the sides of the roads leaving Knysna there are thousands of tin shacks where sometimes more than 4 people will live and work in the growing vacation town. Last year a huge fire (caused)razed the town and the surrounding area. The devastation is still visible.

Yesterday I shopped for some cotton clothing produced here -not in China! I love it. It is cool when in heat and warm when the air is cool. Having hiked so much in Europe I got used to wearing layers of polyester but this cotton is fabulous. We lunched on a boat while cruising Knysna Lake and then wandered the shops. Dinner was at Sirocco overlooking the Lake. I ate ostrich which was really tender closer to a beefy taste rather than chicken. I loved it!

About imagesontherun

Artist, photographer, painter, printmaker, creative, energetic and alive! That's me in a nutshell!
This entry was posted in Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment